Day 3 #my500words: Pause Is A Good Thing

When I recently announced on Facebook that I took Jeff Goins’ “my 500 words” challenge, I didn’t know what to feel then.

I was excited but worried at the same time.

I was excited to take the challenge because, it’s definitely a refreshing experience for somebody who just wants to get back into the habit of writing.

I am worried though because, for somebody who intentionally manages a “growing” home, I might not keep up with writing. The worst part of not being able to pick up where I left off is, I tend to just stop, allowing these voices inside tell me things like, “I told you you’re not going to make it” and “You do best at starting but you can’t even finish a thing.”

It’s easy to get discouraged when you give in to the battlefield that goes on in your mind. But if you love writing, this mind battle shouldn’t stop you from writing again.

So every time a war goes on in my head, I just pause. And when I pause, great things happen.

Whenever I pause, I get a chance to really listen to the voice of the Master of all masters and it directs me to unexplainable peace. And everything else follows.

Whenever I pause, I get a chance to really get to know my little boys and my husband. The next thing I know, I have found new learnings to share and to write.

Whenever I pause, I get a chance to read books, get an inspiration out of it.

Whenever I pause, I get more inspiration from the things around me.

Whenever I pause, I get to learn more things from other writers and find that setbacks is part of the process; and the process makes their writing journey more worth taking.

Whenever I pause, I get to meet people, hear their stories and learn from it.

Pause is something that I am slowly embracing. For without pause, I won’t have peace of mind that I need whenever I write.

For without pause, I wouldn’t know where will I get an inspiration to write about.

For without pause, I will not be able to embrace the joy of being an intentional wife and mom.

For without pause, I will not be able to enjoy each chapters and pages of the books I read.

For without pause, I will not be able to know the stories of the great writers I know.

For without pause, I will not be able to enjoy my time spent with my Master.

When things get a little too overwhelming, it’s alright to pause every once in a while.

Because when we pause, it helps us see the beauty and goodness in all things. It helps us to not miss opportunities when we’re moving.

Pause is a good thing.

“It’s not only moving that creates new starting points. Sometimes all it takes is a subtle shift in perspective, an opening of the mind, an intentional pause or reset, or a new route to start to see new options and new possibilities.” – Kristin Armstrong

Your Thoughts?

