Day 7 #my500words: I Wish I Had Known

overlookingI wish I had known soon how to be brave and speak for myself, so that I could defend myself from people who seem to be experts of what they do best: maltreat.

I wish I had known soon that maturity doesn’t come with age. There are people out there who, still don’t know what they are doing even if they are already in their 40’s. or 50’s. or even 60’s.

Some of them will use their seniority for the benefit of their selfish intents.

Some of them will use their seniority to validate their bent perspectives in life.

Some of them allow you to be their witness of their bad practices or habits, which eventually you assume to be the norm.

I wish I had known soon that you will never get a yes and a no when you don’t ask. More often than not, the only way you will get your yes and your no is to simply ask.

I wish I had known soon that there is no such thing as soulmate; that every person you meet is a candidate for one. And when you finally meet the person you choose to marry, you have to commit to love his flaws and dark side.

I wish I had known soon that marriage is not imperative, a pre-requisite that must be laid out for every single women out there.

I wish I had known soon that not all you meet along the way were meant to be your friends. Some of them were just meant to teach you lessons either the easy way or the hard way. Some of them were meant to stick with you no matter how good or bad you are to them.

I wish I had known soon that respect isn’t something you can just claim and walk away. You earn it. Hard.

I wish I had known soon that trust is easy to lose but hard and slow to earn.

I wish I had known soon that travel is a therapy to one’s soul and a window for new learnings.

I wish I had known soon that while money isn’t everything, it is undeniably essential to many things.

I wish I had known soon that motherhood is a commitment. When you commit, you strive or persevere to be the best that you can be. And when you give your best, you will get nothing but the best out of it.

I wish I had known soon that not all Christians are actually Christians. Some of them claim themselves to be but do not understand deeply what it means to be one.

I wish I had known soon that the order of things go something like this: Give comes first, get comes second.

I wish I had known soon that our bodies were built for activity, not for idleness. It’s when we run, walk, swim, dance and climb that we become more alive.

I wish I had known soon that kids may say the darndest things, but are great teachers too.

I wish I had known soon that in order to be the master of something, you don’t just claim yourself to be one. You HAVE TO BE ONE.

I wish I had known soon that doing tons of things doesn’t equate to being productive. You can be busy but not productive.

I wish I had known soon that it’s the intangible, our experiences that makes us wise and rich, not the tangible, material things we buy and possess.

I wish I had known soon that our journey in life defines us more than our destination; and it’s how we took the journey that will get us to and determine our destination.

Your Thoughts?

